FAQSearchLoginRegister
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:21 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 How to move the master scanner engine to another server 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:54 am
Posts: 28
Post How to move the master scanner engine to another server
Our gwava server (containing the master gwia scanner engine) broke down and has not been rebuild. I got rid of most of the infos about that server, but then found out that the engine was linked to our 2 other gwava which are still trying to connect with it.
The question is :
How can I make another server the "master gwia scanner server" ? without losing anything of course and without being able to access anything on the previous "master".
Thx


Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:39 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 762
Location: The developers dungeon
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
Did you remove the server from the list via the advanced/sys tools/server maintenance page?

The way the multi-server system operates there is no real 'master' server. Once you remove it from the server list, it should settle down.

_________________
"To err is human, but to really screw things up requires a computer"


Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:37 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:54 am
Posts: 28
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
But in system management/advanced/engines, I still have the engine of the wrong server and the attached interfaces to that engine are my two other servers ! What will happen if I "unlink" these two interfaces ? I will lose the (manage scanner) "shared link information" or is this not important ?


Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:17 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 762
Location: The developers dungeon
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
First off, all the interfaces and engines are virtual objects in the database, so don't worry that something exists for a server that is gone.

Check your scanner object map to see how the pieces link together. If you had been sharing the engine between all the servers, then you don't really want to remove it, as it belongs to all of those servers.

It's probably a good idea to send me a copy of your gwavaman.db file (last nights backup will do) so I can see what you are seeing before I give too much more advice. Send it to me at developer1@gwava.com and I'll take a look at what you have set up.

_________________
"To err is human, but to really screw things up requires a computer"


Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:31 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:44 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
Hi, I've been trying to move our single GW4 instalation to a new server, without losing all the settings.

I've tried to copy the instalation and changed all the paths but something is not working well.

The scenario is:
A SLES10SP2 box with 3 VM machines:
- One FS
- One GW mail server
- One GW4 scanner

to distribute the loads.

Is this possible at all?
It seams that the GW4 needs to be on the server that as the GWIA queues since i cannot map them using UNC's, 'm I correct ?
Our current setup is everything on one single box

Please advice and help.

I'll keep searching on the web for solutions, I need this asap since my main server is dying, I've the FS transfered but I'm waiting to figure out this.

Regards.

_________________
Jorge Gomes
Novell CNE & CLE


Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:47 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 762
Location: The developers dungeon
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
GWAVA needs to run on the same VM as the GW mail system to be able to access the message files.

_________________
"To err is human, but to really screw things up requires a computer"


Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:20 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:44 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Lisboa
Post Re: How to move the master scanner engine to another server
HelloWorld wrote:
GWAVA needs to run on the same VM as the GW mail system to be able to access the message files.


Thanks for the reply.
As I said, I've figured that out, but thank you.

Regards

_________________
Jorge Gomes
Novell CNE & CLE


Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:46 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.