FAQSearchLoginRegister
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:54 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Updating through proxy? - ADDED 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:56 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Vic, Australia
Post Updating through proxy? - ADDED
Any chance that this might be implemented in a future release?

We have a significantly faster internet connection through a proxy, but we can't run our update through the proxy, and need to use our other direct connection which is considerably slower


Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:07 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:16 am
Posts: 86
Location: Godalming, UK
Post Re: Updating through proxy?
AFAIK Reload downloads the update using wget. If you set the environment variable 'http_proxy' then wget should use the proxy address. More information about wget proxy can be found here. As I don't have a proxy I have not tested it myself though.


Fri Nov 23, 2007 5:35 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:48 am
Posts: 161
Post Re: Updating through proxy?
I've known about this issue for a while. I've have trepidation about stepping into the issue of proxies, because as soon as we support such a thing suddenly problems with integration with the proxy become a support issue. So I am considering it, but I personally need more experience and time with the issue before I modify the code.

MFasen had a good idea. I have purposely tried to use many Linux utilities in order to allow further flexibility beyond what I have put in my code, that's the beauty of Linux!

Also with Reload 2.5, I have an option that allows upgrading Reload to be easier if you have to manually download a patch. Basically you can download the *.zip or *.rpm, and copy it to the /opt/beginifinite/reload/upgrade directory, and then choose to upgrade, and Reload will fine the *.zip or *.rpm file and upgrade Reload from that file.

Enjoy
-Tay

_________________
Tay Kratzer


Sat Nov 24, 2007 5:24 am
Profile E-mail

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:56 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Vic, Australia
Post Re: Updating through proxy?
thanks for the replies, if the solution Tay proposes is workable for the full upgrades that occur with major releases (eg 2.5, 3 etc) then thats good enough for me. Can download it on our fast connection and pop it on the box that way, it's just a simple matter of relaunching reload for it to find the upgrade / patch in that folder?


Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:23 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:48 am
Posts: 161
Post Re: Updating through proxy?
Yes, that's correct.

Enjoy
-Tay

_________________
Tay Kratzer


Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:25 am
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.